IT’S TIME FOR CALIFORNIA TO RAISE AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

IT’S TIME FOR CALIFORNIA TO RAISE AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

In California, we think we are so progressive. But when it comes to automobile insurance requirements, we are bottom dwellers.

We are one of the only states that still have $15,000/$30,000 mandated minimum coverage for liability insurance. Only Louisiana, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania have the same limits. The only state that has lower liability limits than California is Florida, where they require $10,000/$20,000. Absurd.

Just to review, liability insurance is what you can sue for or collect from the driver who causes your injuries when you are involved in an automobile accident.

There are 36 states that have $25,000/$50,000. For example, Alabama, Mississippi, Missouri, and Oklahoma, where the cost of living is substantially cheaper than in California (meaning a visit to the hospital or doctor is far less), have higher limits one can collect if an inattentive driver crashes into you. Alaska and Maine have $50,000/$100,000 limits. Now we’re talking!

In California, if you are in an automobile accident and end up in the emergency room due to your injuries, this minimum coverage of $15,000 will basically cover the cost of that one visit. Heaven forbid you have to spend a night or two in the hospital.

California also mandates a minimum of $5,000 for property damage. As we all know, if you’ve ever had any body work done, $5,000 to repair an automobile does not go very far. California drags the bottom with New Jersey and Massachusetts having this same limit. All other states range from $10,000 to $25,000.

California’s limits were established in 1976, 45 years ago. At that time a brand-new Ford Pinto sold for $2,625. Today that 1976 dollar is worth 21 cents, a fifth of it’s old buying power. Healthcare costs have skyrocketed 31-fold since the 1970’s when per-capita the health care spending was $353 per person a year. In 2019, that figure was $11,582.

Try Googling why California has not kept up with the times about and raised our limits. You will find nothing. It should be an easy fix. Right? It appears the last time a bill was introduced to bring California into the 21st Century was February 2020. It was sent over to the state Assembly’s insurance committee where it died of neglect.

It’s time we do something to get these minimum requirements raised. We need to call and write our California legislators and demand action. The difference in the cost of raising these minimums to something that reflects the cost of being involved in an automobile accident, would likely be measured in Starbuck’s coffees. I’ll gladly give up an occasional Starbuck’s Frappucino to be able to cover my medical bills, lost wages, and other costs incurred, in case I’m in an accident with a California driver who carries the minimum insurance.

Contact us today for a free auto accident claim consultation or for any questions regarding insurance coverages.



Freeway Lanes Closed due to Motorcycle Crash
Father and his 2 children dead after suspected drunk driver crashes into them
Fatal Pedestrian-Vehicle Collision in Anaheim
1 Killed Multiple Injured After 6-Car Crash
California Bicycle Laws: What You Need to Know
A car crash in Ortega Highway kills a woman and leaves a man injured
How Bird Scooters Have Effected LA For Traut
Multi-Vehicle Accident involving a bus results in 1 dead and 7 in hospital
Head-on Highway Crash - One fatality
Pedestrian Crash results in two dead
What To Do If You Were In A Truck Accident
Newport Beach, Man struck by vehicle, Killed
Bakersfield police looking for 3 suspects in an October hit and run
Two-Vehicle crash on Santa Ana (5) freeway in Tustin results in man dead
Stop and Frisk Law in California
School Bus Driver Criminally Charged
Cyclist Dies After Collision In Stanton
Safety for Motorcyclists
Many Rollover Accidents are Preventable
2 Detained Women and 1 dead on Hyde Park Accident
Motorist flees after crashing into car repair shop, killing one
Why Do Some Lawyers Get Higher Settlements For Their Clients?
fatal Vehicle collision with pedestrian
In California, Hazing is Illegal
High-Speed Driving leads to injury and fatality in anaheim
Comedian’s Family Settles with Walmart
Hit-and-run leaves woman and dog dead
Pedestrian Fatally Struck By Amtrak Train
Teens Text While Driving a lot but Adults do it Even More
Costa Mesa Fire Chief Dies 2-Day After Being Struck By Suspected DUI
Sheriff’s Deputy Dead After Fatal Crash
Fatal DUI Car Accident Leads to Arrest
A hit-and-run driver struck a man in a wheelchair on 1st and Townsend Streets’ area
Call Now Button